siticom provides the platform for the cellular campus network in the 5G Bavaria project

Open 5G radio access network and cloud-native 5G core system architecture for testing next-generation digital applications

Image material © Fraunhofer IIS

Weiterstadt, October 15, 2020

Transition from research to industrial application of 5G technologies

siticom GmbH is an independent system integrator and has been on the market since 2010. siticom is installing a self-sufficient 5G stand-alone campus solution at the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS in Nuremberg and Erlangen. This technology platform for the '5G Bavaria' initiative funded by the Bavarian State Ministry for Economic Affairs, Energy and Technology offers companies and users from vertical markets numerous opportunities to simulate and emulate new functionalities in an overall 5G context in the laboratory and in a realistic mobile network environment to test and evaluate. '5G Bavaria' thus creates the transition from research and standardization to industrial applications.

 

Companies can already implement and test digital applications in 5G via the platform's open interfaces. For this, siticom has created an open solution based on a cloud-native 5G core system architecture. The siticom developers use the service-based architecture to enable standardized interfaces to all core functions. Siticom realizes the virtualization of the 5G core applications in a scalable and orchestrated multi-access edge computing infrastructure. The Radio Access Network (RAN) was designed according to the recommendations of the O-RAN Alliance and meets the high requirements of Fraunhofer IIS with regard to latency and data throughput for Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT) applications. The completely virtualized solution runs on standard servers and, in combination with the open architecture, serves as an edge computing platform with maximum flexibility.

 

“The companies are working flat out on the digitization of industrial processes and on new offers. 5G is a key technology here. In order to be able to develop and test applications with the latest mobile radio technology and to ensure rapid market readiness, the combination of the latest telecommunications technology and innovative IT solutions is essential. The testing and development of future-proof communication applications and localization solutions also requires high-performance and suitable test facilities. The '5G Bavaria' project offers companies in Bavaria and beyond a basis for developing their specific adaptations.

 

“With the open 5G Stand Alone Campus solution with native cloud technologies, 5G-Bavaria provides companies with a comprehensive kit to test company-specific adaptations to production processes, digitize production processes and develop scalable digital applications. The open system and network architecture meets the requirements for a flexible provision of network elements, open service functions and 5G network slicing in order to provide users and applications with individual data rates, speeds and capacities and to be able to orchestrate service modules.” explains Christian Freund, Director 5G Solution & Services at siticom.

About the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS

The Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, based in Germany, is the world's leading organization for application-oriented research. 74 institutes and research facilities at locations across Germany work under its roof. Around 28,000 employees achieve an annual research volume of 2.8 billion euros. The Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS, headquartered in Erlangen, conducts top international research for microelectronic and information technology system solutions and services.

 

Today it is the largest institute of the Fraunhofer Society. Research at Fraunhofer IIS is based on two main themes: In “Audio and Media Technologies”, the institute has been shaping the digitalization of media for more than 30 years. Pioneering standards were developed with mp3 and AAC, and Fraunhofer IIS was also instrumental in digitizing the cinema.

 

The current developments open up new worlds of sound and are used in virtual reality, automotive sound systems, mobile telephony as well as for radio and streaming. In connection with "cognitive sensor technology", the institute researches technologies for sensor technology, data transmission technology, data analysis methods and the utilization of data in the context of data-driven services and corresponding business models. This adds a cognitive component to the function of the classic "intelligent" sensor.

More than 1100 employees work in contract research for industry, service companies and public institutions.

The institute, founded in 1985, has 14 locations in 11 cities: Erlangen (headquarters), Nuremberg, Fürth and Dresden as well as in Bamberg, Waischenfeld, Coburg, Würzburg, Ilmenau, Deggendorf and Passau. The budget of 169.9 million euros per year is financed from contract research, with the exception of core funding of 26 percent.

More at: www.iis.fraunhofer.de

5G Fraunhofer.jpeg

PRESS RELEASE

MEDIA CONTACT

Ben Sellwood

Brunnenweg 19

D-64331 Weiterstadt

Phone: +49 89-2154044-11

Email: info@siticom.de

QUESTIONS - YOUR DIRECT CONTACT.

CHRISTIAN FRIEND

DIRECTOR 5G SOLUTION & SERVICES

+49 176 15915160

christian.freund@siticom.de

Office Munich

Germany

  • Weißes Xing
  • White LinkedIn Icon

siticom liefert die Plattform für das Mobilfunk-Campusnetz im Projekt 5G Bavaria

Offenes 5G Funkzugangsnetz und Cloud-Native-5G Core-Systemarchitektur für das Testen von digitalen Anwendungen der nächsten Generation

Bildmaterial ©Fraunhofer IIS

Weiterstadt 15. Oktober 2020

Übergang von der Forschung zur industriellen Anwendung von 5G Technologien

Die siticom GmbH ist unabhängiger System-Integrator und seit 2010 am Markt tätig. siticom installiert am Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS in Nürnberg und Erlangen eine autarke 5G Stand Alone Campus-Lösung. Über diese Technologieplattform für die vom Bayerischen Staatsministerium für Wirtschaft, Energie und Technologie geförderten Initiative ‘5G Bavaria‘ bieten sich für Unternehmen und Anwendern aus vertikalen Märkten zahlreiche Möglichkeiten, neue Funktionalitäten in einem 5G-Gesamtkontext im Labor zu simulieren und zu emulieren und in realistischer Mobilfunkumgebung zu testen und zu evaluieren. ‘5G Bavaria‘ schafft damit den Übergang von der Forschung und der Standardisierung zu industriellen Anwendungen.

Unternehmen können über die offenen Schnittstellen der Plattform bereits heute digitale Anwendungen in 5G implementieren und testen. Hierfür hat siticom eine offene Lösung auf Basis einer Cloud-Native-5G Core-Systemarchitektur geschaffen. Die Entwickler von siticom nutzen dabei die Service-Based-Architecture, um standardisierte Schnittstellen zu allen Core-Funktionen zu ermöglichen. Die Virtualisierung der 5G Core-Applikationen realisiert siticom in einer skalierbaren und orchestrierten Multi-Access Edge-Computing-Infrastruktur. Das Radio Access Network (RAN) wurde nach den Empfehlungen der O-RAN Alliance konzipiert und erfüllt die hohen Anforderungen des Fraunhofer IIS hinsichtlich Latenz und Datendurchsatz für Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT)-Anwendungen. Die vollständig virtualisierte Lösung läuft auf Standard-Servern und dient in Kombination mit der offenen Architektur als Edge-Computing-Plattform mit maximaler Flexibilität.

“Die Unternehmen arbeiten mit Hochdruck an der Digitalisierung industrieller Prozesse und an neuen Angeboten. 5G ist hier eine Schlüsseltechnologie. Um Anwendungen mit neuester Mobilfunktechnologie entwickeln und testen zu können und um eine schnelle Marktreife sicherzustellen, ist die Verbindung von neuester Telekommunikationstechnik und innovativen IT-Lösungen unabdingbar. Das Erproben und das Entwickeln zukunftsbeständiger Kommunikationsanwendungen und Lokalisierungslösungen setzt dabei auch leistungsfähige und passende Testeinrichtungen voraus. Das Projekt ‘5G Bavaria‘ bietet Unternehmen in Bayern und darüber hinaus eine Grundlage für die Entwicklung ihrer spezifischen Adaptionen.

 

“Mit der offenen 5G Stand Alone Campus-Lösung mit nativen Cloud-Technologien stellt 5G-Bavaria den Unternehmen einen umfassenden Baukasten bereit, um unternehmensspezifische Adaptionen an Produktionsprozessen zu testen, Produktionsprozesse zu digitalisieren und skalierbare digitale Anwendungen zu entwickeln. Die offene System- und Netzarchitektur erfüllt die Anforderungen für eine flexible Bereitstellung von Netzwerkelementen, Open Service-Funktionen und 5G Network Slicing, um Nutzern und Anwendungen individuelle Datenraten, Geschwindigkeiten und Kapazitäten bereitzustellen und Service-Bausteine orchestrieren zu können,“ erklärt Christian Freund, Director 5G Solution & Services bei siticom.

Mehr als 1100 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter arbeiten in der Vertragsforschung für die Industrie, für Dienstleistungs-unternehmen und öffentliche Einrichtungen.

Das 1985 gegründete Institut hat 14 Standorte in 11 Städten: Erlangen (Hauptsitz), Nürnberg, Fürth und Dresden sowie in Bamberg, Waischenfeld, Coburg, Würzburg, Ilmenau, Deggendorf und Passau. Das Budget von 169,9 Millionen Euro pro Jahr wird bis auf eine Grundfinanzierung in Höhe von 26 Prozent aus der Auftragsforschung finanziert.

Mehr unter: www.iis.fraunhofer.de

PRESSEMITTEILUNG 

MEDIENKONTAKT

Ben Sellwood

Brunnenweg 19

D-64331 Weiterstadt

Phone: +49 89-2154044-11

E-Mail: info@siticom.de

Über das Fraunhofer Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS

Die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft mit Sitz in Deutschland ist die weltweit führende Organisation für anwendungsorientierte Forschung. Unter ihrem Dach arbeiten 74 Institute und Forschungseinrichtungen an Standorten in ganz Deutschland. Rund 28 000 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter erzielen das jährliche Forschungsvolumen von 2,8 Milliarden Euro. Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS mit Hauptsitz in Erlangen betreibt internationale Spitzenforschung für mikroelektronische und informationstechnische Systemlösungen und Dienstleistungen.

Es ist heute das größte Institut der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. Die Forschung am Fraunhofer IIS orientiert sich an zwei Leitthemen: In »Audio und Medientechnologien« prägt das Institut seit mehr als 30 Jahren die Digitalisierung der Medien. Mit mp3 und AAC wurden wegweisende Standards entwickelt und auch an der Digitalisierung des Kinos war das Fraunhofer IIS maßgeblich beteiligt.

 

Die aktuellen Entwicklungen eröffnen neue Klangwelten und werden eingesetzt in Virtual Reality, Automotive Sound Systemen, Mobiltelefonie sowie für Rundfunk und Streaming. Im Zusammenhang mit »kognitiver Sensorik« erforscht das Institut Technologien für Sensorik, Datenübertragungstechnik, Datenanalysemethoden sowie die Verwertung von Daten im Rahmen datengetriebener Dienstleistungen und entsprechender Geschäftsmodelle. Damit wird die Funktion des klassischen »intelligenten« Sensors um eine kognitive Komponente erweitert.

FRAGEN - IHR DIREKTER KONTAKT.

CHRISTIAN FREUND

DIRECTOR 5G SOLUTION & SERVICES

+49 176 15915160

christian.freund@siticom.de

Office Munich

Germany

  • Weißes Xing
  • White LinkedIn Icon
Image by Cytonn Photography

GET IN TOUCH WITH US.

Sprechen Sie uns gerne einfach direkt an: unser Management-Team steht Ihnen jederzeit direkt zur Verfügung und freut sich auf Ihren Kontakt!

friends-fist-bumping-4SR95T7.jpg

JOIN OUR

TEAM.

 Wir sind auf der Suche nach leidenschaftlichen und neugierigen Menschen. Bewirb Dich noch heute!

Alle Rechte liegen bei siticom GmbH | We enable with love since 2010